Government and Political System

Government and Political System

Malta has a parliamentary democracy.  The Head of State is the President of the Republic with the Prime Minister and his Cabinet having executive powers.  Legislative powers are vested in the House of Representatives which is composed of 65 members elected from the two major political parties.  Elections are held every 5 years.  The judiciary is impartial and independent from the government. The requisites for fair judicial proceedings and due process are in place through the Constitution and the European Convention on Human Rights which forms part of the law of Malta.


Further information may be obtained from one of our leading experts by contacting us below:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message

 Yes, I would like to receive EMD's newsletter with information regarding legal developments and new services.

To help us fight spam, please enter the verification code below: